top of page

Rainer Spanagel

Project Coordinator Rainer Spanagel, PhD   

Full professor, Scientific Director Institute of Psychopharmacology, Heidelberg University

List of relevant publications and Patents within the last five years

Total publications 1990-2018: 298 PubMed listed with 5 Highly Cited Publication in Field. Sum of the times cited:

14.750 (WEB of Science, March 2018) - H-Index: 65

Spanagel R, Vengeliene V, Jandeleit B, …, Lawrence AJ, Kiefer F (2014) Acamprosate produces its anti-relapse effects via calcium.  Neuropsychopharmacology 39:783-91.


Vengeliene V, Noori HR, Spanagel R (2015) Activation of Melatonin Receptors Reduces Relapse-Like Alcohol Consumption. Neuropsychopharmacology 40:2897-906.


Hirth N, Meinhardt MW, …, Perreau-Lenz S, Sommer WH, Spanagel R*, Hansson AC* (2016) Convergent evidence from alcohol dependent humans and rats for a hyperdopaminergic state in protracted abstinence. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 113:3024-29 *equal contribution


Noori HR, Schöttler J, Ercsey-Ravasz M, Cosa-Linan A, Varga M, Toroczkai Z, Spanagel R (2017) A multiscale cerebral neurochemical connectome of the rat brain. PLoS Biol 15(7):e2002612.


Hansson AC, Koopmann A, Uhrig S, Bühler S, Domi E, Kiessling E, Ciccocioppo R, Froemke RC, Grinevich V, Kiefer F, Sommer WH, Vollstädt-Klein S, Spanagel R (2018) Oxytocin Reduces Alcohol Cue-Reactivity in Alcohol-Dependent Rats and Humans. Neuropsychopharmacology 43:1235-1246.


EU patent (2016) (Noori HR, Mücksch C, Urbassek HM, Spanagel R: “Mutated Receptor Polypeptide and Use Thereof”


EU Patent Application No 14155868.4.


ONGOING GRANTS RELATED TO THE PRESENT TOPIC (No overlaps with the pre-proposal)


DFG SFB1134 Neuronal Ensembles in Reward Processing 2014-2018

EU SyBil-AA in Horizon 2020: Systems Biology of Alcohol Addiction 2015-2019


BMBF e:Med: Alcohol Addiction - A Systems-Oriented Approach 2014-2019



1991                 PhD, Neuropharmacology, Max Planck Institute of                                  Neuropharmacology (Prof. Albert Herz) Martinsried,                              Germany

1991 – 1995     Scientific assistant, MPI of Psychiatry, Munich (Prof.                                Florian Holsboer)

1996                 Habilitation, Pharmacology & Toxicology (Prof.                                      Wolfgang Forth) University of Munich

1995 – 1999     Head of the Research Group “Drug Addiction” at the                              MPI of Psychiatry

2000 –               Scientific Director of the Institute of                                                      Psychopharmacology, CIMH


1998                Wilhelm Feuerlein Award for Alcohol Research

2003                Sir Hans Krebs Award

2005                Albrecht-Ludwig-Berblinger Award

2008                James B. Isaacson Award

2010                Reinhart-Koselleck-Award, DFG

2011                AGNP Award for Excellence in Psychopharmacology

2015                NEATOR Award from American College of             


2017                European Alcohol Research Award from ESBRA and   

                        Lautenschläger Foundation

2018                BANGS Distinguished Investigator Award

comissions of trust

2005 –              Editor-in-Chief of Addiction Biology

2003 –              Member of the Editorial Boards of Addiction (2003-   

                         2009), Alcoholism Clinical and Experimental Research                          (2003-2017), Behavioural Brain Research (since                                  2011), Journal of Neurochemistry (since 2014),                                    International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology                                (since 2015), Naunyn-Schmiedeberg's Archives of                                Pharmacology (since 2016), Genes (since 2016)

2004 –              Member of the Executive Board of the Society of                                    Addiction (SSA)

2008 – 2010     Management Board National Genome Research                                  Network (NGFN)

2009 – 2017     Scientific Advisory Board ECNP

2014 – 2016     Management Board of the National e:Med Consortia                            on Systems Medicine

2014 – 2020     Scientific Advisory Board of the EMCDDA in Lisbon

2016 – 2018     President of the International Society of Biomedical                                Research on Alcoholism (ISBRA)

bottom of page